The real significance of the Junee breakthough really only came to be appreciated in the 1880s and 90s, when the riches of the fields in a line to the north – Temora and Wyalong – helped revive the ailing fortunes of the NSW gold industry. Mrs Rosevear, wife of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, HMAS Junee (Allan C Green, State Library of Victoria), Left: Three ships, HMAS Glenelg, HMAS Cootamundra and HMAS Junee, manoeuvre to enter the Ambon harbour, circa September 1945. This is now the centre of Junee. The town has many fine features including wide streets (notably Broadway) and eccentric old-style architecture old-style buildings starting with the Renaissance-style railway station built in 1883. Visit Junee to explore a rich history in rail, gold and bushrangers. It was originally known as "Jewnee" Silos at Old Junee. Junee, town, south-central New South Wales, Australia. Genealogy (Family History) Cemetery records for burials within the Junee Shire are available to search via Council's online mapping system (IntraMaps). She was launched on 16 November 1943 by Mrs Rosevear, wife of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and was the first RAN warship to carry the name of a medium sized town in the Riverina region of NSW. We aim to provide a school that is striving for excellence in the Religious, Academic, Sporting and Cultural areas of education. Learn how and when to remove this template message, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Old_Junee&oldid=979879058, Australian Statistical Geography Standard 2011 ID same as Wikidata, Articles needing additional references from September 2019, All articles needing additional references, All Wikipedia articles written in Australian English, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, This page was last edited on 23 September 2020, at 09:04. The historic (and some say most haunted house in Australia) late Victorian mansion Monte Cristo was the centre of society for the pastoralists and merchants of the bustling town of Junee. Twenty were built on Admiralty order but manned and commissioned by the Royal Australian Navy. For the portion of the quarter ending June, 1880, the total enrolment was 39 (20 boys, 19 girls), the average being 22.3. Accessible from both directions. The school closed in 1966. Take a guided tour of the Junee Roundhouse Railway Museum, an impressive feat of engineering and one of the few working roundhouses left in the world.When it opened in the 1940s, it had the largest turntable in the Southern Hemisphere. It … Junee was an outpost in NSW goldmining when it first came to public prominence in 1868. On 8 June 1957 Junee berthed at Fremantle for the last time as a seagoing ship of the Royal Australian Navy. The first small settlement on the western side was called Crawley’s Town. Founded in the glory days of the New South Wales Government Railways (NSWGR) and now home to some of the state’s most fitting tributes to those grand old locos, Junee happily combines old world charm with its modern lifestyle and culture. At that time the block of country north of Gundagai and east of Young was blank on the gold map of NSW. It was originally known as "Jewnee", Jewnee Post Office opened on 1 May 1862 and was renamed Old Junee in 1885 when the present town of Junee was given the name.. In 1895 an urgent application was made for fencing to provide for four horses - no doubt for the use of children arriving at school by horse and also in that year the school acquired 8 acres (3.2 ha) for the school paddock. During her service as a training ship she steamed a further 64,508 miles bringing her total mileage to 117,049 miles. The town was gazetted a municipality in 1886, and it became a Monte Cristo was built in 1884 and the historic homestead has been fully restored in High Victorian Style. Junee is a pretty railway town set between rolling hills and the Murrumbidgee River south-west of Sydney. Visit Houlaghan Valley Wines and Bethungra Old School T-House to get a taste of local delights, and wander through the Junee Farmers Market on the first Sunday of each month. Twenty were built on Admiralty order but manned and commissioned by the Royal Australian Navy. Junee Remembers has 3,026 members. When the Great Southern Railway was built from Sydney to Albury, only one town was newly built on a greenfields site; the town was Junee. The full significance of this discovery would take some time to realise. In 1879 the fi rst post office was opened and called the Junee Railway Station Post Office. Junee’s picturesque streetscapes hail from a time when architecture was grand and detail was everything… Junee is filled with elegant surprises; there’s a well-loved and carefully maintained historical building at every turn. When the railway reached the site of Junee on 6th July, 1878, an informal settlement had already formed. Flag ship store. Which European capital city is known as the Eternal City? It's called Monte Cristo Homestead, and it is an intense place. That's truly terrifying and that's what we found when we visited Junee and went into the Monte Cristo Homestead. Pop. Other run licencees followed until Thomas Hammond and Richard Gwynne bought the licence in 1857. In an extraordinary period from 1851 onwards, people rushed to make their fortunes on a series of goldfields that were discovered in NSW. Just like back in the day, Junee, NSW is a bustling hub, set against an elegant architectural backdrop, nestled amongst pleasantly rolling hills. Junee's Colourful History What's in a name? Junee paid off on 21 August 1957 and on 18 June 1958 she was sold to Mr WG Davies of Fremantle. Many of the business houses were flooded and major railway line damage occurred. In October and November Junee was occupied assisting the restoration of Dutch authority in the Netherlands East Indies. Shop our FLAG SHIP store . In 1885, after a petition from local residents was received by the Government, the town, on 13 October, became officially known as Junee, and the original town became Old Junee. There were no incidents worthy of note during this period of service. HMAS Junee was one of sixty Australian Minesweepers (commonly known as corvettes) built during World War II in Australian shipyards as part of the Commonwealth Government's wartime shipbuilding programme. Journey through history, a tantalizing array of food and wine experiences, spectacular landscapes and some exciting and award-winning attractions on the Riverina's Canola Trail, taking in the shires of Coolamon, Junee and Temora. Mr Bullen had leave of absence for 3 months in 1902 after 20 years' service and was relieved by Messrs Hallman and Dawson for that period. In 1929, when school opened, there was no water available so an application had to be made to buy and transport water from the railway station.